Our Legacy

September 28, 1999
The first game of the series was released

Homeworld was created over two years and was the first game developed by Relic. Studio co-founders Alex Garden and Luke Moloney served as the director and lead programmer for the game, respectively.

The initial concept for the game’s story is credited to writer David J. Williams, while the script itself was written by Martin Cirulis and the background lore was written by author Arinn Dembo.

September 01, 2000
Homeworld: Cataclysm is released

Homeworld: Cataclysm was originally designed to be an add-on to the original Homeworld, it was fully fleshed-out to be a stand-alone title. Set 15 years after the original Homeworld, this game included many gameplay and presentation improvements.

Sierra Studios once again published this installment, with Barking Dog Studios handling the development. Barking Dog Studios had previously assisted with the original Homeworld.

September 16, 2003
A sequel was born

Developed by Relic Entertainment and Sierra Entertainment, Homeworld 2 was released four years after the original game. Like its predecessor, it was directed by Alex Gardener, with lead programming by Luke Moloney with newcomer Stephane Morichère-Matte. The original story concept is attributed to Dave Williams, and written by Andrew Chambers, Joshua Mosqueira, Paul Ruskay, Rob Cunningham.

Homeworld 2 gameplay remained faithful to the original including the 3-dimensional play area and movement abilities, and saw improved audio and visuals.

February 25, 2015
Remastered for the ages

Homeworld and Homeworld 2 were diligently rebuilt in the form of the Homeworld Remastered Collection by several key members of the original development team members, including the original voice cast and with involvement from passionate fans around the world. Homeworld Remastered utilized the Homeworld 2 engine, high fidelity voice recordings and remastered score, advanced graphics combined with classic gameplay modes, multiplayer and features. 

January 20, 2016
Homeworld takes a groundbreaking approach

Homeworld: Deserts of Kharak serves as a prequel to the inaugural Homeworld title. Developed by Blackbird Interactive, founded by Rob Cunningham and former Relic Entertainment members, this spin-off was first conceptualized outside of the Homeworld IP in 2010. Returning key staff outside of Rob Cunningham included composer Paul Ruskay and artist Jon Aaron Kambeitz. 

After many years of hard work, Deserts of Kharak was released. In a bold departure from the previous installments largely occurring in space, Deserts of Kharak features ground-based battle, enhanced with modern gameplay, stylized imagery, and era appropriate technology to reflect the earlier timeline setting. 

June 22, 2017
A formal reintroduction

Homeworld: Cataclysm is reintroduced to the universe as Homeworld: Emergence, the stand-alone expansion to the acclaimed Homeworld series. 

The change was made to aid in differentiating from the registered trademark “Cataclysm” by Blizzard Entertainment.

//Pre-order now btn //Petrol_Universal_script